3 new iOS 16 features you can use to improve your privacy and security


Your iPhone can now protect private photos with Face ID Lock private notes, rate who your phone might share data with, and more. Here are 3 of the most important security and privacy features in iOS 16.

Protect private photos with Face ID

Your iPhone has long given you the option to hide private photos in a “Hidden” folder, and those photos won’t appear in your Photos list, as you need to specifically go to the hidden folder on the Albums page in the Photos app to see them, but starting with the Employment iOS 16With ., your iPhone protects these photos and anything in the Recently Deleted folder with Face ID By default, this way, if someone has physical access to your phone, they won’t be able to see your private photos.

To use this feature, start the Photos app, tap on Albums, scroll down and tap Hidden or Recently Deleted, you’ll need to use Face ID or touch Identification card To see the contents of these folders, if you’re not currently enabled, start the Settings app and tap Photos, turn on Use Face ID or Use Touch ID By swiping the button to the right.

Protect private notes with Face ID

You may know that it is possible to lock notes that you want to keep private, but you had to use a passcode to access, starting with iOS 16you can now use Face ID or Connection IDwhich is more convenient, to lock a note, start an application Notes Then tap and hold the note you want to lock, then choose Lock Note in the pop-up menu.

If this is the first time you lock a note after upgrading to iOS 16 Your iPhone should automatically give you the opportunity to enable Face ID For your locked notes, if you don’t see it, or you skipped that step, you can enable it now, start the Settings app and tap Notes, on the Notes page, tap Password, tap Account Notes that you want to use, iCloud or notes stored locally on your phone, then enable Use Face ID By swiping the button to the right.

Use Security Check to see who has access to your data

Over time, you may have given many friends and family members access to the data on your device Iphone You may share your location permanently, for example, or share photo folders in the Photos app, and even iOS 16There was no central place to assess who had access to the sides of your phone, the new Security Checkup feature can quickly conduct a privacy audit and show who can see what.

To do your own audit, start the Settings app, tap Privacy and Security, tap Check Security, then tap Manage Sharing and Access You’ll likely need to unlock the feature with Face IDtap Continue, then go through the wizard to see exactly what other people, apps, and devices can access your data, revoke access on the go, or tap Skip on each page to see the data without changing any permissions.

Scroll to Top