FilGoal | News | The history of Al-Ahly and Zamalek in the Egyptian Super .. and 7 previous summit confrontations

The Hazza Bin Zayed Stadium in the UAE city of Al Ain will host the nineteenth edition of the Egyptian Super competition.

Zamalek plays against Al-Ahly in the current version of the Super, which was supposed to take place before the 2021-2022 season.

The super meeting is being held in the UAE for the fifth time in history, and both Al-Ahly and Zamalek have won the title there equally twice for each. reviews the history of the two poles in the competition.


Al-Ahly is considered the historical champion of the competition, after winning the title 11 times out of 18 held.

Al-Ahly missed the first two editions of the championship, which Zamalek won at the expense of Ghazl El-Mahalla and Arab Contractors.

Al-Ahly lost the Super title 4 times before, including the last two editions, against both Zamalek and Tala’a El-Gaish, respectively.

Al-Ahly won the Al-Ahly title in the 2003-2004 season, and it was a penalty shootout at the expense of Zamalek.

Al-Ahly has the best successive winning streak in the title, as it won the title four times in a row, the first two times between the 2005-2006 season to 2008-2009, and the second time was the 2010-2011 season until 2015-2016.

The 2011-2012 and 2013-2014 editions have been cancelled.

Al-Ahly scored 15 goals in the super competitions, at a rate of one goal per match, and Al-Ahmar failed to score goals in the last two editions.

Al-Ahly’s net conceded 8 goals in the history of its confrontations with the Egyptian Super.

Al-Ahly won the title 3 times on penalties and twice in extra games, while it lost the title 4 times, including three on penalties.


Zamalek achieved the title of the first two editions of the Super competition, which were the 2001-2002 and 2002-2003 seasons at the expense of Ghazl El-Mahalla and Arab Contractors, respectively.

Zamalek participated before on 10 occasions and won the title in only 4 of them.

Zamalek had previously won the title twice in the UAE, twice at the expense of Al-Ahly and on penalties.

Zamalek missed eight copies of the super competition, the last of which was the last version, which was crowned by the army’s pioneers with penalty kicks at the expense of Al-Ahly.

Zamalek did not win the title on its four occasions until after the original time, as it won twice in overtime and the same with penalty kicks.

Zamalek scored 9 goals in ten super matches they played before, while conceding 13 goals.

Zamalek won the title of the last two editions, which they won on penalties, and they were in the Emirates, while the first two titles were in overtime.

The top of the super

The Egyptian Super was held between Al-Ahly and Zamalek before on 7 occasions, and it will be held for the eighth time between the two teams.

Al-Ahly won the Super title at the expense of Zamalek five previous times, while Zamalek won the title from Al-Ahmar twice.

The Super Summit ended in penalty kicks four previous times, while it was decided only 3 times in the original time, and all of them were for Al-Ahly.

Related Articles

Check Also
Back to top button