technology

How can you watch two astronauts take their first spacewalk on Friday?


NASA is broadcasting a full spacewalk, with commentary, to explain the details of the process, as two astronauts from the International Space Station (ISS) emerge from the station’s Quest airlock to install new hardware on the station’s exterior on Friday, January 20.

The astronauts performing the spacewalk will be NASA astronaut Nicole Mann and Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA) astronaut Koichi Wakata, and this will be their first spacewalk.

They will work on the ongoing project to upgrade the space station’s power system, which includes installing new solar arrays called iROSAs.

Four of the six iROSAs have been installed since 2021.

Mann and Wakata will not install the solar arrays this time, but instead, they will install two mounting platforms that will be used to install the arrays in the future, Digitartlends reported.

“The duo will complete the installation of the Stabilizer Platform on Power Channel 1B that began during a previous spacewalk and begin the installation of the Stabilizer Platform on Power Channel 1A,” NASA quoted.

If you’re watching spacewalks and wondering who the astronaut is, Mann will wear an unmarked white suit, while Wakata will wear a white suit with red stripes.

How do you watch a spacewalk?

The spacewalk will be broadcast live on NASA TV, which you can watch either using the video embedded near the top of this page or by heading over to the NASA TV channel on YouTube.

Coverage of the spacewalk will begin at 7 AM ET (4 AM PST) on Friday, January 20, and the spacewalk is scheduled to begin at 8:15 AM ET (5:15 AM PST).

Coverage will continue for the duration of the spacewalk, which is about six and a half hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button